About

The International de Go Tournament of GREnoble

The Grenoble’s 2nd International Go Championship (TIGGRE) will be held on the 13th and 14th of October 2018 at the Congress Center WTC. 200 Go players of all nationalities, ages and levels are expected to come for this great celebration of the game of Go !

TIGGRE : players coming from thirty different countries

The TIGGRE, one of the biggest tournaments in Europe will welcome prestigious players such as European and Asian professional players and children who study go in schools and academy throughout Europe and Asia.

Ellie Cup : a must-go rendez-vous for the best players in Europe

The 32 best players registered to the TIGGRE will have the priviledged to participate in the Ellie Cup, one of the biggest competitions in Europe, accounting for the European Grand Prix. The Ellie Cup, richely sponsored, was created by Inseong Hwang to help developping Go in Europe and contributing to the rise of the Go level in Europe.

A plural event

Sport

As a prime example of a mind game, the Game of Go carries ancestral values close to olympics both on a individual and collective perspective. The TIGGRE, as an international tournament, is dedicated to bringing all peoples together within those values.

Cultural

Born in China thousands of years ago, the Game of Go also carries cultural and philosophical values, which became universally acclaimed throughout the whole world by its players.

Artistic

Considered as one of the four “literate arts” in China, Japan and Korea, the Game of Go has always been a source of inspiration for painters and writters. Recently a manga “Hikaru No Go” brought enthousiasm for the game to thousands of children throughout the world. Thanks to the contest organized along with the TIGGRE, young players will be able to discover the many wonders of Go and devellop their creative instinct!

Scientific

This game, with its very simple rules and yet tremendously hardous strategy, is a excellent model for research in the field of artificial intelligence, as we saw with Google DeepMind’s AlphaGo. The conference “Game of Go and Artificial Intelligence” will focus on the extroardinnary improvement of “deep learning”, neuronal network and will explore the new challenges to come.

Intergenerational

The TIGGRE is one of the few international tournaments to associate both children and adults in a single competition. For the children who were taught Go in primary schools, it is a unique occasion to meet with the greatest european players.
Educational

Game of Go devellops many qualities : logic, focus, flexibility, respect, anticipation, creativity, intuition, socialisation, self-control and open-mindedness. The TIGGRE – Ellie Cup and its side events are dedicated to bring those educational qualities and the work that has been done for years by the Grenoble Go Club to teach go to children in the spotlight.

A propos…

TIGGRE – Ellie Cup

Le Tournoi International de Go de GREnoble

Le 2e Tournoi International de Go de Grenoble (TIGGRE) aura lieu les 13 et 14 octobre 2018 au Centre de Congrès WTC. 200 joueurs de go du monde entier, de tous âges et de tous niveaux sont attendus pour cette grande fête du go !

TIGGRE : des joueurs de go d’une trentaine de pays

Le TIGGRE, un des plus gros tournois organisés en Europe, accueillera des joueurs prestigieux, parmi lesquels des professionnels européens et asiatiques ainsi que des enfants qui étudient le go dans des écoles et académies en Europe et en Asie.

Ellie Cup : le rendez-vous des meilleurs joueurs d’Europe

Les 32 meilleurs joueurs inscrits au TIGGRE auront le privilège de participer à l’Ellie Cup, l’une des compétitions les plus relevées d’Europe, comptant pour le Grand Prix Européen. L’Ellie Cup, richement dotée, a été créée par Inseong Hwang pour aider au développement du go en Europe et contribuer à l’élévation de son niveau.

Un évènement multi-facettes

Sportif

Sport de l’esprit par excellence, le jeu de go porte un ensemble de valeurs ancestrales proches de l’olympisme, à la fois sur le plan individuel et sur le plan collectif. LE TIGGRE, tournoi international, a pour vocation, entre autres, de rapprocher les peuples autour de ces valeurs communes.

Culturel

Né en Chine il y a plusieurs millénaires, le jeu de go est porteur de valeurs culturelles et philosophiques universelles, reconnues aujourd’hui dans le monde entier par des dizaines de millions de pratiquants.

Artistique

Considéré comme l’un des « quatre arts du lettré » en Chine, Japon et Corée, le jeu de go a depuis toujours été une source d’inspiration pour les peintres et les écrivains. Plus récemment, un manga « Hikaru no Go » a enthousiasmé des centaines de milliers de jeunes de par le monde. Grâce au jeu-concours proposé à l’occasion du TIGGRE, les jeunes pourront découvrir les multiples facettes du jeu de go et développer leur fibre créative !

Scientifique

Ce jeu aux règles si simples mais à la stratégie si élaborée (avec un nombre de combinaisons quasi-infini) reste un modèle pour la recherche en intelligence artificielle, malgré la défaite en mars 2016 de Lee Sedol contre AlphaGo. La conférence « Jeu de Go et Intelligence Artificielle » se penchera sur les énormes progrès du « deep learning » et des réseaux neuronaux, et explorera les nouveaux challenges à venir.

Intergénérationnel

Le TIGGRE est un des rares tournois de dimension internationale à associer les adultes et les enfants dans une même compétition. Pour les enfants initiés en périscolaire, pouvoir approcher les meilleurs joueurs européens est une occasion unique.

Éducatif

Le jeu de go permet de développer de très nombreuses qualités : logique, concentration, adaptation, anticipation, respect de l’adversaire, créativité, intuition, socialisation, maîtrise de soi, ouverture à d’autres cultures. Le TIGGRE – Ellie Cup et ses activités satellites ont pour objectifs, entre autres, de mettre en valeur les qualités éducatives du jeu de go et le travail effectué depuis des années par le Club de Go de Grenoble pour développer le go auprès des jeunes.